new compilation of core Dead tracks from 1967; $22. Streets 7/11


The Grateful Dead
Smiling on a Cloudy Day

The summer of 1967 was a turning point in popular culture that drew as many as 100,000 young people to San Francisco’s Haight-Ashbury neighborhood. It represented a social convergence driven by free thinking, hippie fashion, political upheaval, sexual freedom, drug use and creative expression. As the movement spread around the world, it led to an outpouring of poetry, artwork, and especially music.

In July, Rhino will launch its 50th anniversary celebration of the Summer of Love with vinyl re-issues of key albums from that era along with new compilations that provide a soundtrack to this defining moment of the Sixties.

The Grateful Dead were at the cultural epicenter of the scene at Haight-Ashbury and the Summer of Love in 1967.

This is a new compilation on of core Grateful Dead tracks from this period:

Side One
1. “The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)”
2. “Cream Puff War”
3. “Morning Dew”
4. “That’s It For The Other One”
5. “Born Cross-Eyed”

Side Two
1. “Dark Star”
2. “St. Stephen”
3. “China Cat Sunflower”
4. “Doin’ That Rag”
5. “Cosmic Charlie”